More on Selective Mutism..

August 17, 2008 at 4:22 am 3 comments

I received a comment from a concerned mom. Let me share it with all of you…

Mommy Wheng says:

Hi! I have a son who’s eight. He has selective mutism. He didn’t talk last year in school and still not talking in school right now. I’ve been reaching out to others with same problem. I feel so alone with the battle. How’s Angelo?

Hello Mommy Wheng!

Thanks for dropping by to my blog. It must be really tough for a mother to see his son not talk in school and seeing him so talkative and jolly at home.

We all struggle to make Angelo talk in school. He has not spoken a word throughout his Kindergarten years and now, he’s still not talking in my preparatory class.

Recently, his mother brought him to a developmental pediatrician and she was referred to a child psychiatrist. The child psychiatrist gave our school some guidelines on how to help Angelo overcome his anxiety. Some of these things were:

1. Angelo should be in small class setting. Fortunately, our preparatory class has only six kids.

2. We are not supposed to force him to talk. So, right now, we just take it as it is. We even asked his classmates not to talk about Angelo’s problem. Most of the time, I alter my teaching style to suit his needs and to assess him on a specific learning task.

3. We encourage his classmates to go to their house to play with him. And last week I started to do some home visitation too.

4. We made it a point to make the school as cozy as a home.

These guidelines proved to be very helpful since Angelo’s tantrums has lessened significantly and we observed that he is starting to control his fine motor skills (writing, coloring, etc).

In addition, Angelo now joins us when we sing our action songs. When he usually just sit through it last year. But of course, he only does the action part.

I know these may sound so trivial but for Angelo it is such a big feat since he was also diagnosed to have a mild attention deficit disorder.

I suggest that you consult a developmental pediatrician first, so that she could give you an idea on what to do next. It is very crucial that you work hand in hand with your child’s teacher. I know it may really take some work on her part but I think (and hope) that she will take this as a great challenge.

I understand your frustration about being alone in this battle since this problem is not that common. If you want, I can give you the contact number of Angelo’s mom so you could talk to her about it.

Please keep me posted on your son’s progress. I know that with proper help and a little patience on your part, your son will grow up to be a happy and smart boy.

Entry filed under: Kids With Special Needs, preschool. Tags: .

Good Read: Papel de Liha Petting Lessons

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ralph Cormier  |  July 21, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    There is a forum designed for parents of Selective Mute Children, I found it very useful. you should check out the posts that other people have put there. http://smsg.baseman.ca/

    Reply
  • 2. Cha  |  April 10, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    This site might be helpful: http://www.torey-hayden.com/research/interventions-in-EM-study.pdf

    It contains methods used by professionals to get a child with selective mutism to speak.

    Reply
  • 3. Carrie Bryson  |  October 8, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    I am the author of “Why Dylan Doesn’t Talk” a new children’s book about Selective Mutism. I would love if you could share this book with others who may find it helpful for their child. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

RSS My Little Milestones

  • The Importance of Being Funny October 10, 2009
    I grew up in a house of wits! My parents, my siblings and now, my nephews and my nieces are always ready to crack up one witty punchline in a middle of a conversation. All my friends say that a visit to our house is just like going to a stand-up comedy show. Most of the time they would end up going home with a stomachache (no joke) or tears due to incredible […]
    noreply@blogger.com (Kela)
  • Petting Lessons April 11, 2009
    My seven-year-old nephew, Kiko, runs a zoo in their house. He has fishes, love birds, turtles, chickens, pigeons, dogs and eel under his care. Though this may sound like a crazy circus, it is quite amazing to see Kiko grow and learn from these animals.Keeping pets at home provide ample opportunities of learning to little kids. Aside from the obvious benefits […]
    noreply@blogger.com (Kela)

